AFCA's Executive Director - Grant Teaff

Grant Teaff

When Grant Teaff was named Executive Director of the American Football Coaches Association in February 1994, he approached his new role as a coach, by formulating a master game plan. 

In 19 years, Teaff has executed that plan at a championship level, and in the process has become one of the most effective administrators in intercollegiate athletics. In 2002, The Sporting News ranked Teaff as one of the most powerful administrators of college athletics. In December 2004, Teaff was named one of the most influential people in college sports by Street & Smith’s Sports Business Journal.

Grant Teaff’s outstanding career as a college coach has placed him in eight Halls of Fame, including the Texas Sports Hall of Fame, and the College Football Hall of Fame. He won 170 football games, two Southwest Conference championships and coached in 20 post-season bowls and all-star games. He was Coach of the Year six times in the Southwest Conference, and received National Coach of the Year Awards from the American Football Coaches Association and the Football Writers Association. In 2006, Teaff was honored with the Amos Alonzo Stagg Award. 

The awards continued to come to Teaff, with the most recent being the Bud Selig Award, given by the McClendon Foundation.  This annual award is presented to an individual who has been at the forefront of creating equal opportunities for minorities in athletics.

Coaching Halls of Fame include the National Football Foundation, College Hall of Fame, the Texas Sports Hall of Fame, the Big Country Hall of Honor, the Blue-Gray All-Star Hall of Fame, Sun Bowl Legends, Texas Bowl Legends, Legends of the Big 12, Big Country Hall of Fame and Baylor Athletic Hall of Fame. 

Other awards include the Tom Landry Excellence in Character Award, three-time Texas High School Coaches Association Distinguished Service Award, Pop Warner Distinguished Service Award, National Football Hall of Fame Distinguished Texan Award, the Robert R. Neyland Memorial Award, Football Writers Association of America Achievement Award and the Morris Frank Touchdowner of the Year Award.

Grant Teaff’s values are rooted in his West Texas upbringing. He began to develop his leadership skills as a student at Snyder High School. He was captain of his high school, community college and senior college football teams. He quickly became a leader in his chosen profession. Teaff was involved in national issues as a coach, and as an administrator. As Executive Director of American Football Coaches Association, he is involved in every issue that affects the college game, and has become a strong spokesman for the game of football. As a nationally known author and motivational speaker, Teaff loves to share his leadership techniques with those involved in education, the business world, and particularly with coaches. 

The 12,000 members of the American Football Coaches Association have had a front row seat as they watched the massive changes that have taken place in the Association. 

Coach Teaff and his wife Donell are the parents of three daughters and four grandchildren. The Teaff’s are deeply involved in their community and have worked actively locally and nationwide with many charities, and with the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.

When asked how he would like to be remembered, he said, “As someone whose major goal was to make a difference.”

Teaff has written six books: “I Believe,” “Winning,” “Seasons of Glory,” “Coaching in the Classroom,” “Grant Teaff with the Master Coaches” and “A Coach’s Influence: Beyond the Game.”

Other Links

Past Executive Directors

For more click here!

I forgot my username or password!