Joe Moore Receives 2005 Outstanding Achievement Award

Long-time assistant coach Joe Moore will be the recipient of the American Football Coaches Association’s Outstanding Achievement Award. The award will be presented to Moore, posthumously, during the AFCA Kickoff Luncheon on January 9 at the 2006 AFCA Convention in Dallas, Texas.  The AFCA Board of Trustees created the award in order to recognize AFCA members, past and present, who have achieved outstanding success while coaching in football.

Iowa head coach Kirk Ferentz will present the award to Moore’s son, John at the Kickoff Luncheon.   Joe Moore passed away in July 2005.

“During the year of 2003, the AFCA Board of Trustees authorized a new award to recognize individuals from all areas of football who have made an extraordinary contribution and who have experienced great success in their area of football,” AFCA Executive Director Grant Teaff said.  “The first winner was Tim Marcum, head coach of the Tampa Bay Storm in the Arena Football League.  The honoree this year was singled out by over 100 football coaches across America, who had either played for, worked with or had been influenced by Joe Moore.  The Assistant Coaches Committee recommended to the Board of Trustees that Coach Moore receive the Outstanding Achievement Award during the 2006 Convention.  Joe Moore represents all of the outstanding assistant coaches on all levels of football who have made extraordinary contributions to the game, but most importantly, to those who played it.”

Considered by many as one of the greatest offensive line coaches, Moore produced All-Americans and Hall of Fame linemen Bill Fralic, Mark May, Russ Grimm and Jimbo Covert while working as the backfield coach and offensive line coach at Pittsburgh from 1977 to 1985.  May also won the 1980 Outland Trophy, given annually to the top interior lineman in college football, under Moore’s tutelage.

Upon being inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, Covert credited Coach Moore with his development.  “I was fortunate to play with a lot of great players, and I was also associated with a lot of great coaches like Joe Moore, who is the greatest line coach of all time,” Covert said.

After working two years at Temple, Lou Holtz hired Moore in February 1988 to coach tight ends and tackles at Notre Dame.  In his nine years with the Irish, every offensive line starter he coached moved onto the NFL upon graduation – including first round pick Andy Heck in 1989; Mike Brennan, Dean Brown and Tim Grunhard in 1990; Tim Ryan and Mike Heldt in 1991; Gene McGuire and Mirko Jurkovic in 1992; Lindsay Knapp and Justin Hall in 1993; first round pick Aaron Taylor, Tim Ruddy and Todd Norman in 1994; and Dusty Zeigler and Ryan Leahy in 1995.  Taylor, who was the 16th pick overall in the 1994 draft, also won the Lombardi Award.

“On behalf of all of us who supported Coach Moore’s recognition, we are very appreciative that he is receiving this honor,” Iowa head coach Kirk Ferentz said. “He impacted a lot of coaches and players during his career in a positive way.  He has a fraternity of coaches who either coached with him or played for him who are in the profession now.  He was a career assistant coach who did a tremendous job impacting the lives that he touched along the way.  I am very happy to see his efforts recognized in such a prestigious fashion.”

Moore joined Pittsburgh’s staff in December 1976 following an impressive 17-year high school head coaching tenure.  He coached at Richfield Springs (N.Y.) H.S. from 1959-60, Towanda (Pa.) H.S. from 1961-62, Erie McDowell (Pa.) H.S. from 1963-71 and Upper St. Clair (Pa.) H.S. from 1972-75.  His 17-year mark of 119-32-4 included two straight WPIAL co-championships his last two seasons at Upper St. Clair and a 66-19-1 record in nine years at McDowell, including league titles in four of his last five years.

The AFCA was founded in 1922 and currently has more than 10,000 members around the world, ranging from the high school level to the professional ranks. According to its constitution, the AFCA was formed, in part, to “maintain the highest possible standards in football and the coaching profession” and to “provide a forum for the discussion and study of all matters pertaining to football and coaching.”

For more click here!

I forgot my username or password!