Brad Franchione Selected as 2009 ACCFCA Coach of the Year

Blinn (Texas) College Head Coach Brad Franchione has been named the 2009 American Community College Football Coaches Association Coach of the Year. The award will be presented to Franchione at the American Football Coaches Association Coach of the Year Dinner on Tuesday, January 12, at the 2010 AFCA Convention in Orlando, Florida.

“To win a national championship and have my fellow coaches honor me as Coach of the Year is a supreme honor,” Franchione said. “The award has my name on it, but it is really a testament to all the great people in our program: our student-athletes, our coaches, our college administration, faculty and staff. That is what makes it truly a team effort.”

Franchione just completed his fifth year directing the Buccaneer program, his 15th in college football. He guided Blinn to a 11-1 overall record, the Southwest Junior College Football Conference (SWJCFC) title and the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) national title in 2009.

In his five years (2005-2009) at Blinn College, Franchione has amassed a 46-10 record highlighted by two NJCAA National Championships (2006, 2009). In his second season as head coach, Franchione was named the SWJCFC Coach of the Year, the American Football Monthly Schutt Sports Coach of the Year and the inaugural Sportexe® Football Coach of the Year after leading Blinn to a 12-0 mark, the SWJCFC title and the 2006 NJCAA national championship. In 2008, Blinn finished the season with a 9-3 record, with an appearance in the Heart of Texas Bowl.

Franchione has coached 16 All-Americans during his tenure at Blinn, including four on this year’s list and the 2008 NJCAA Offensive Player of the Year, quarterback Terrance Cain, who now plays for the University of Utah.  

Franchione came to Blinn in 2005 from Texas A&M University-Commerce where he was the defensive line coach. He was also an assistant coach at Bacone College (2003-2004), the University of Tennessee-Martin (2002), the University of West Alabama (2001-2002), East Central University (1999-2001), and Fort Scott Community College (1998). He was a graduate assistant at Arkansas State University (1996-1998), and a student assistant coach at the University of New Mexico (1992-1996) where his father Dennis Franchione was the head coach.

About the ACCFCA: Community college football coaches are among the very best in the profession. In recent years, there have been two organizations, the California Community College Football Coaches Association and the National Junior College Football Coaches Association. Each organization had its own coach of the year. In 2000, the AFCA invited the organizations to meet at the AFCA Convention. Three national goals were set: to form a national community college football coaches’ association, to study the possibility of a national championship game between the two organizations and to elect, yearly, a national coach of the year and to have that coach recognized by the AFCA.

Their initial goal, to create an umbrella coaches association, has been accomplished. In 2002, the American Community College Football Coaches Association selected its first national coach of the year, Michael White of Reedley College.  Past winners of the ACCFCA Coach of the Year are: Troy Morrell, Butler Community College, 2003; Tim Hatten, Pearl River Community College, 2004; Don Dillon, American River College, 2005; John Featherstone, El Camino College, 2006; Jeff Chudy, Bakersfield College, 2007; and Jeff Jordan, Butte College, 2008.

For more click here!

I forgot my username or password!