AFCA Announces 2011 Division III Coaches' All-America Team

Dubuque wide receiver Michael Zweifel and Benedictine (Ill.) runningback John Borsellino headline the 2011 AFCA Division III Coaches’ All-America Team announced today by the American Football Coaches Association.

The AFCA has selected an All-America team since 1945 and currently selects teams in all five of its divisions. What makes these teams so special is that they are the only ones chosen exclusively by the men who know the players the best — the coaches themselves.

Zweifel led the nation in total receiving yards (1,915), receiving yards per game (174.09) and receptions per game (12.73). He set a new Division III record with 140 catches this season, and is the all-time NCAA leader (all divisions) with 463 career receptions. Borsellino finished second in the nation in all-purpose running, averaging 219.27 yards per game. He rushed for 1,354 yards, had 296 yards receiving, 184 punt return yards and 578 kick return yards.

2011 AFCA Division III Coaches’ All-America Team

Pos. Name Ht. Wt. Cl. School Coach Hometown (High School)
WR Michael Zweifel 6-1 190 Sr. Dubuque Stan Zweifel Whitewater, Wis. (Whitewater)
WR Justin Gallo 6-2 190 Jr. Union (N.Y.) John Audino Brunswick, N.Y. (Lansingburgh)
TE Kyle Fiedorowicz 6-7 266 Sr. North Central John Thorne Johnsburg, Ill. (Johnsburg)
OL Curtis James 6-3 290 Jr. St. Thomas (Minn.) Glenn Caruso Edina, Minn. (Edina)
OL Ben Rogers 6-1 265 Sr. Hampden-Sydney Marty Favret Mchanicsville, Va. (Hanover)
OL Ben Hume 6-4 281 Sr. Centre Andrew Frye Lexington, Ky. (Catholic)
OL Alex Smith 6-8 320 Sr. Salisbury Sherman Wood Madison, N.J. (Madison)
OL Nate Menkin 6-5 290 Sr. Mary Hardin-Baylor Pete Fredenburg Lago Vista, Texas (Lago Vista)
QB Alex Tanney 6-4 220 Sr. Monmouth (Ill.) Steve Bell Normal, Ill. (Lexington)
RB Levell Coppage 5-9 190 Sr. Wis.-Whitewater Lance Leipold Oak Park, Ill. (Oak Park)
RB Chris D’Andrea 5-9 190 Sr. Montclair St. Rick Giancola Union, N.J. (Union)


Pos. Name Ht. Wt. Cl. School Coach Hometown (High School)
DL Chris Bickford 6-0 230 Sr. Rochester Scott Greene Willits, Calif. (Willits)
DL Chris Mayes* 6-3 253 Sr. Wesley Mike Drass Waldorf, Md. (Westlake)
DL Ryan Jenkins 6-2 215 Sr. Illinois Wesleyan Norm Eash Park Forest, Ill. (Rich South)
DL Anthony Marascio 6-2 257 Sr. Lycoming Mike Clark Philadelphia, Pa. (Father Judge)
LB CJ Gum 6-0 231 Sr. Wabash Erik Raeburn North Judson, Ind. (North Judson)
LB Nick Clark 6-2 235 Sr. Alfred Dave Murray Canisteo, N.Y. (Greenwood)
LB Patrick McDonough 6-1 232 Sr. Muhlenberg Mike Donnelly Wyomissing, Pa. (Wyomissing)
DB Nick Driskill 5-10 190 Jr. Mount Union Larry Kehres Wabash, Ind. (Southwood)
DB Shawn Brown 5-10 185 Sr. New Jersey Eric Hamilton Long Branch, N.J. (Long Branch)
DB Chris Greenwood 6-2 187 Sr. Albion Craig Rundle Detroit, Mich. (Martin Luther King)
DB Derek Dreher 6-2 205 Sr. Wis.-La Crosse Joe Dettwiler Verona, Wis. (Verona)


Pos. Name Ht. Wt. Cl. School Coach Hometown (High School)
P Cote Schacherl 6-3 190 Sr. Howard Payne Steve Fanara Flatonia, Texas (Flatonia)
PK Allen Cain 6-2 170 Jr. Texas Lutheran Danny Padron San Antonio, Texas (Stevens)
AP John Borsellino 5-8 185 Jr. Benedictine (Ill.) Jon Cooper Oak Brook, Ill. (Montini Catholic)

*-2010 AFCA All-American

Team Background: The AFCA has selected an All-America team every year since 1945. The five teams now chosen for each AFCA division evolved from a single 11-player squad in 1945. From 1945 until 1967, only one team was chosen.

From 1967 through 1971, two teams, University Division and College Division, were selected. In 1972, the College Division was split into College I and College II.

In 1979, the University Division was split into two teams — Division I-A and Division I-AA.

In 1996, the College I and College II teams were renamed Division II and Division III, respectively. The AFCA began selecting an NAIA-only team in 2006. Also in 2006, the Division I-A and Division I-AA teams were renamed Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) and Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), respectively.

From 1965-81, a 22-player (11 offensive, 11 defensive) team was chosen. In 1982, a punter and placekicker were added to the team. In 1997, a return specialist was added, giving us the current 25-player team. The return specialist position was been replaced by an all-purpose player in 2006.

The Award: Members of the AFCA Coaches’ All-America Team receive a plaque commemorating their selection to the team.

Top Teams: Mount Union leads all schools with 19 players chosen to the AFCA Division III Coaches’ All-America Team a total of 20 times since 1972. The Purple Raiders are followed by Augustana (Ill.) (19/17), Wittenberg (19/17), Washington & Jefferson (17/15), Wisconsin-La Crosse (16/16), Central (Iowa) (14/13), Linfield (14/13), Mississippi College (14/13), Montclair State (14/12), Emory & Henry (13/13), Ithaca (13/13), Wisconsin-Whitewater (13/11), Widener (13/10), Wheaton (12/11), St. John’s (Minn.) (11/11), Salisbury (11/11), Frostburg St. (11/10), Springfield (Mass.) (11/10), Wesley (11/9) and Millsaps (11/8).

Consecutive Years: With Chris Mayes’ second straight selection this year, Wesley has had a player chosen for seven consecutive years, from 2005 to present, the longest current streak. From 2000-09, Mount Union had a player chosen for 10 straight seasons, which is the longest streak in Division III. The Purple Raiders also had one player chosen for six consecutive seasons from 1993-98. Second on the list is Washington and Jefferson, who had a player chosen for All-America honors for nine straight seasons (2002-10). Emory & Henry is third on the list, having had a player named AFCA All-American for eight straight seasons from 1985-1992. Augustana (Ill.), Mary Hardin-Baylor and Wheaton have had players selected for six consecutive seasons from 2000-05, 2006-11 and 2003-08, respectively.

Repeat After Me: No player has earned AFCA Division III All-America honors four times, however Texas A&I (now Texas A&M-Kingsville) runningback Johnny Bailey did earn Coaches’ All-America honors four straight years (1986-87-88-89) in AFCA College Division I (now AFCA Division II).

Five players have earned AFCA Division III Coaches’ All-America Team honors three times. They are: DB Tom Deery, Widener, 1979-80-81; RB Scott Reppert, Lawrence, 1980-81-82; RB Joe Dudek, Plymouth State, 1983-84-85; DL Sean Brewer, Millsaps, 1990-91-92; and P Jeff Shea, California Lutheran, 1995-96-97.

Class Distinction: This year’s AFCA Division III Coaches’ All-America Team is made up of 20 seniors and five juniors.

First Time Schools: Two new schools have had players earn AFCA Division III Coaches’ All-America honors this year. Wide receiver Michael Zweifel of Dubuque and defensive lineman Ryan Jenkins of Illinois Wesleyan have earned All-America honors for their schools for the first time in 2011.

Back-to-Back: Wesley defensive lineman Chris Mayes is the only player to earn AFCA Division III Coaches’ All-America honors for the second consecutive season in 2011.

One Player, Two Schools: Punter Mark Bounds is the only player to earn Coaches’ All-America honors at two different schools. He was named to the AFCA College Division I team in 1990 while playing for West Texas A&M. He transferred to Texas Tech after West Texas dropped football and earned I-A All-America honors as a Red Raider in 1991.

For more click here!

I forgot my username or password!