Allstate Insurance Company, in the summer of 2008, became the title sponsor of the AFCA Good Works Teams®, which honors football student-athletes for exemplary community service.

Two 11-man teams are selected for the Allstate AFCA Good Works Teams®, one team from the Football Bowl Subdivision and a second team combined from the Football Championship Subdivision, NCAA Division II and III and the NAIA. The AFCA has been overseeing the selection of the teams since 1997, taking over from the College Football Association (now defunct), which originated the concept in Division I-A in 1992.  The AFCA expanded the program to include all four-year collegiate divisions.

Nominations are submitted early in the summer by sports information directors around the country. Nominees have to be actively involved and committed to working with a charitable organization, service group or community service and maintain good grades. 

Candidates have to display sincere concern and reliability, while also having made a favorable impression on the organizations with which they are involved. Athletic ability is not a criteria.

The Award
Each member of the AFCA Good Works Team receives a plaque signifying his selection.

All in the Family
When Matt Mehlhorn was selected to the Good Works Team in 2015, he joined his brother J.D., who was selected in 2013, as the sixth set of brothers to be named to the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team. St. Thomas (Minn.) has had three sets of brothers named to the Good Works Team. Jeffrey (2009) and Andrew (2002) Hilliard join brother’s Patrick (2007) and Paul (2004) Sommerstad, and John (2003) and Greg (1999) Kaiser. They join Eli (2002) and Peyton Manning (1997) and Jon (2001) and Matt Stinchcomb (1997) as the only siblings to earn AFCA Good Works Team honors.

Top Conference
The SEC leads all conferences with 67 selections to the Good Works Team since it began in 1992. The SEC is followed by the Big 12 Conference with 48 selections and the Atlantic Coast Conference with 37 selections.

Yearly Honors
With Jeb Blazevich’s selection in 2016, Georgia still sits in first place with 17 honorees named to the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team. The Bulldogs are followed by Nebraska with 14 honorees and Kentucky and St. Thomas (Minn.), who are tied with 13. Super Bowl XLII and XLI champion quarterbacks Eli and Peyton Manning were members of the 2002 and 1997 Good Works Teams®, respectively.